The General Aviation Awareness Council (a company without shareholders, limited by guarantee) has been established by the UK’s General Aviation associations, supported by commercial and professional bodies, in order to ensure that GA activity in the UK stops declining and starts to recover. Elsewhere, particularly in mainland Europe, General Aviation – whether business flying, pilot training, sport, recreation or other forms – has been publicly and privately encouraged, whereas in the UK it received very little support or recognition.

The critical factor for the future growth of UK General Aviation are the need for more aerodromes, strategically sited to serve areas of economic development and enough free airspace in which to operate safely and efficiently.

The objectives of the Council are:

  • to EXPLAIN the nature of the GA Industry
  • to PROMOTE its purpose and value
  • to PROTECT its facilities (e.g. aerodromes)
  • to ENSURE its future

How you can help
This site states the case for General Aviation. You can assist by giving your active support to GA activity and plans both nationally and in your own community.
This will:

  • Ensure new business and sustained economic growth
  • Make sure that no locality – including yours – lacks a suitable aerodrome from which GA can fulfil its national and local responsibilities.

GAAC Council Members Past & Present
Action for Airfields
Aerobatic Displays Ltd
Aircraft Operators and Pilots Association (AOPA UK)
Airport Operators Association
Bagby Airfield
British Business & General Aviation Association (BBGA)
Beadle Pup Club
Bebecar UK
British Helicopter Advisory Board
Bickerton’s Aerodromes Ltd
British Medical Pilots Association
British Microlight Aircraft Association (BMAA)
British Model Flying Association (BMFA)
B-N Group Limited (Britten-Norman)
British Parachute Association
BPA Drop Zone Defence Fund
British Gliding Association (BGA)
East Sussex Gliding Club
Europa Club
Fairoaks Airport
Flying Farmers Association (FFA)
Guild of Air Pilots & Air Navigators
Great Massingham Airfield
HBC Aviation
Helicopter Club of Great Britain
Henstridge Airfield
Historic Aircraft Association (HAA)
International Fellowship of Flying Rotarians
LAASI Aviation Ltd
Lawyers Flying Association
Old Flying MAchine Company
Old Sarum Flying Club
Pawnee Aviation
LAA – Breckland Strut
LAA – Bristol Strut
LAA – Gloster Strut
LAA – Mid-Kent Strut
LAA – Southern Strut
LAA- Swindon Strut
PPL/IR Europe
Royal Aero Club
RAF Gliding & Soaring Assn
Richard Goode Aerobatics
Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS)
Shadow Owners Club
Stampe Club
Staverton Flying School
Sywell Aero Club
Sywell Aerodrome Ltd
The Air League
The Britten Foundation
The Pilot Centre (Denham)
The Light Aircraft Association
Thistle Aviation
UK Van’s RV Squadron
Vintage Aircraft Club
West London Aero Club
Wingtask 1995 Ltd
Wycombe Air Centre

GAAC Board Members

Charles Henry, FRAeS – Chairman
John Gilder – Vice Chairman
Roger Wilson – Treasurer
George Done (AOPA)
Steve Slater (LAA)
Mark Bailey (BBGA)
Amy Paul (Denham Aerodrome)
Colin Walker (IFFR)
Geoff Weighell (BMAA)
Andy Symons (BMFA)
Anthony Kedros (FFA)

GAAC Officers and Specialist Co-ordinators

President – Lord Rotherwick
Vice Presidents – David Ogilvy, Jack Wells
Secretary  – Anthony Kedros

Treasurer – Roger Wilson
Accountants  Focus Accounting, Retford
Website & Communications / Public Relations – Ian Sheppard
Planning Co-ordinator – John Gilder
Safeguarding Co-ordinator – Richard Vousden